Distinguished Awards

Distinguished Achievement Awards and Honorary Societies

The links below lead to information about distinguished honors as well as learned societies to which our basic, clinical, and population science faculty can be nominated. The goal of this resource is to ensure that we encourage recommendation of deserving colleagues and acknowledge those who have received distinguished awards.

If you intend to submit a nomination or have recently received a distinguished award, please let us know. You may use this email to assist with any necessary endorsements or approvals from your respective Dean.

Chronological List


AAAS Martin and Rose Wachtel Cancer Research Award (2/1/18) Past Recipient: Hani Goodarzi, 2017
National Academy of Medicine Membership (2/1/18)
Taubman Prize for Excellence in Translational Medical Research (2/1/18) Past Recipient: Stephen Hauser, 2017
Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award (2/5/18) Past Recipients: Peter Walter, 2014; Ronald Vale, 2012
Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award (2/5/18)
Lasker~Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science (2/5/18)
Harvey Prize, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology (2/7/18)
Japan Prize (2/28/18)
Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research (2/28/18)


Institute of Medicine FDA Tobacco Regulatory Science Fellowship (3/1/18)
Dreyfus Prize in the Chemical Sciences (TBD)
Keio Medical Science Prize (3/7/18)
Princess of Asturias Awards (3/14/18) Past Recipient: David Julius, 2010
APA – Judson Daland Prize (3/15/18)
Balzan Prize (3/15/18) Past Recipient: Shinya Yamanaka, 2010
Young Scientist Award, American Chemical Society (3/15/18)
Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research (3/16/18)
Louis and Artur Lucian Award for Research in Circulatory Diseases (3/23/18)
Yidan Prize (3/30/18)


Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering (4/1/18)
King Faisal International Prize for Medicine (4/1/18) Past Recipient: Shinya Yamanaka, 2011
King Faisal International Prize for Science (4/1/18)
Joseph B. and Toby Gittler Prize (4/1/18)
National Academy of Engineering (NAE) Awards (4/1/18)
AAMC – Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards (4/6/18)
AAMC – Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award (4/6/18) Past Recipients: Elisabeth Wilson, 2015; Sharad Jain, 2004
AAMC – Herbert W. Nickens Award (4/6/18)
American Academy of Arts and Sciences* (Academy members only) (4/11/18)
American Philosophical Society – The John Hope Franklin Dissertation Fellowship
National Medal of Science (4/16/18) Past Recipients: Bruce Alberts, 2014; Stanley Prusiner, 2010
James Irvine Foundation Leadership Awards (TBD) Past Recipients: Dean Schillinger, 2016; Patricia Dennehy, 2012; Steven Pantilat, 2011
Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences (4/30/18) Past Recipient: Peter Walter, 2018
The Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research (TBD) – awarded every two years


Mechthild Esser Nemmers Prize in Medical Science (TBD)
Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise in Biomedical Science (TBD)
Vanderbilt Prize in Biomedical Science (5/31/18) Past Recipient: Elizabeth Blackburn, 2007


AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize (6/30/18)
Landis Award
National Academy of Medicine Awards and Honors
Vilcek Prizes in Biomedical Science (nomination by committee) Past Recipients: Lily Jan and Yuh-Nung Jan, 2017; Peter Walter, 2015


Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement (7/27/18)
AAAS Mentor Awards (TBD)
Millennium Technology Prize (TBD) – next awarded in 2020; Past Recipient: Shinya Yamanaka, 2012


AAAS Award for Public Engagement with Science (8/1/18)
Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine (TBD)


Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists – Applications for this Limited Submission Program (LSP) opportunity to be vetted through UCSF's Research Development Office. Past Recipient: Edward F. Chang, 2015
AAAS Award for Science Diplomacy (9/1/17)
AAAS Award for Scientific Freedom and Responsibility (9/1/17)
AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Award (9/1/17)
International Society of Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM) Young Investigator Awards (9/13/17)
APS - Daland Fellowships in Clinical Investigation (9/15/17)
FNIH – Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences (9/15/17)
Wolf Prize (9/15/17)
Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science (9/30/17)
Tang Prize in Sustainable Development (9/30/17)
Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences (9/30/17) Past Recipient: Ronald Vale, 2012


Canada Gairdner International Awards (10/1/17) Past Recipients: David Julius, 2017; Peter Walter, 2009; Shinya Yamanaka, 2009; Elizabeth Blackburn, 1998; Stanley Prusiner, 1993; Y. W. Kan, 1984; Harold Varmus, 1984; John Clements, 1983
Vannevar Bush Award (10/1/17)
APS - Franklin Research Grants (10/2/17)
NAS Award for Scientific Reviewing (10/2/17)
NAS Award in Chemical Sciences (10/2/17)
NAS Award in Molecular Biology (10/2/17)
NAS – John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science (10/2/17)
NAS – Public Welfare Medal (10/2/17)
NAS – Troland Research Awards (10/2/17)
Dickson Prize in Medicine (10/6/17)
Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine (10/6/17)
Heineken Prizes (10/15/17)
March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology (10/17) Past Recipient: Shinya Yamanaka, 2010
Alan T. Waterman Award (10/23/17)
Warren Alpert Foundation Prize (10/31/17)


Mechthild Esser Nemmers Prize in Medical Science (11/1/17)
Steven C. Beering Award for Advancement of Biomedical Science (11/3/17) – For nomination information, please contact Stephanie Belger.
Passano Award (11/18/17) Past Recipients: David Julius, 2010; Elizabeth Blackburn, 1999; Peter Walter, 1988 (Young Scientist Award)
Dan David Prize (11/30/17) Past Recipients: Cynthia Kenyon, 2011
Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine Past Recipients: Ronald Vale, 2017; Peter Walter, 2014; David Julius, 2010; Shinya Yamanaka, 2008; Y. W. Kan, 2004; Herbert Boyer, 2004


APS – Franklin Research Grants (12/1/17)
Edward M. Scolnick Prize in Neuroscience (12/15/17)
Gruber Prizes in Genetics and Neuroscience (12/15/17)
Albert Einstein World Award of Science (12/18/17)
Kavli Prizes in Astrophysics, Nanoscience, and Neuroscience (nomination by committee) Past Recipient: Michael Merzenich, 2016


Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize (1/25/18)
AAMC – Abraham Flexner Award (1/26/18)
AAMC – Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences (1/26/18)
AAMC – David E. Rogers Award (1/26/18)
immunoSEQ Young Investigator Awards (1/31/18)
LUI Che Woo Prize for World Civilisation (1/31/18)
Nobel Prizes* in Physics and Chemistry (1/31/18)
Nobel Prize* in Physiology or Medicine (1/31/18) Past Recipients: Shinya Yamanaka, 2012; Elizabeth Blackburn, 2009; Stanley Prusiner, 1997; J. Michael Bishop and Harold E. Varmus, 1989
Welch Award in Chemistry (1/31/18)


AmAcad – Amory Prize (nominations are accepted from Academy Fellows only)
AmAcad – Rumford Prize (nominations are accepted from Academy Fellows only)
AmAcad – Scholar Patriot Award (nominations are accepted from Academy Fellows only)
American Council of Learned Societies Fellowship (scholarly organizations, not individuals)
American Philosophical Society – Karl Spencer Lashley Award
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals: Grants and Funding
California Scientist of the Year (awarded by the California Academy of Sciences)
Garfield Award – Economic Impact of Medical and Health Research
Kyoto Prize
Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) (no deadline stated)
Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering – awarded every two years
Unilever Science Prize – awarded every three years – Past Recipient: David Julius, 2007